A Tricky Topic? – A Poorly Thought Out Intro

I get really annoyed by politics.

Yet I bitch about it constantly. For some reason I imagined this blog would be very light in that realm, but I doubt that’s gonna happen now. Don’t worry, it won’t be a constant thing. This isn’t going to be a politics blog. Random stories and reviews and thoughts are still a thing.

But things relating to politic BS will come up. Partly because keeping quiet in today’s climate won’t do much good, but mostly because I’m a writer and a historian and both are heavily tied to those things. Writing because the media we consume is being scrutinized more heavily from a different angle, you could say; and, history, well…history feeds off of this.

So what am I dancing around?

A bajillion things! Race, gender, sexuality, red vs blue, nationalism, etc.

If you see “A Tricky Topic?” then that means it’s gonna be me attempting to be constructive about my frustration but slowly devolve into ranting and bitching about something relating to hot-button issues.

I don’t particularly feel like having things collapse into a flame war, but I don’t think I’ll have to worry about that much.

(Oh also you guys are (my cool) watchers now–I know it’s ‘followers’ on here, but I preferred deviantART’s terminology. Feels less culty.)

SO.

I was going to type this huge thing about diversity in media, but then I realized I should try and be more organized about it.

Also vomiting these words onto the page gave me an excuse to update and warn everybody.

Assuming I remember, as I am fairly packed this week, maybe I’ll have that up later this week.

Which reminds me, I was also supposed to get going on that review of Guns, Germs, and Steel.

Man I’m bad at this.

 

2 thoughts on “A Tricky Topic? – A Poorly Thought Out Intro

Leave a Reply

